should men speak?

by erinohsays

Made this zine based on a Facebook post that got some awesome responses.

First page reads:

“Last month I posted a question on Facebook about whether or not cis-men should be given space to speak at events that commemorate female victims of male violence. It was a question that I confidently felt answering with “NO” but when I started having conversations with others, I found that many people disagreed.

I asked this question because I have been involved in organizing a commemorative event in Toronto for the December 6, 2012 National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women and Children. This is the anniversary of the 1989 Ecole Polytechnique Massacre, in which fourteen women were signled out for their gendered and murdered.

Most people on the Toronto organizing committee for the event this year felt strongly that not only should cis-men be invited to attend the event, but that it was necessary for them to be given space to speak. Here are what some people on my Facebook friends list had to say about it.

-Erin Oh, November 2012″

